Img 4574 2 800x415 2.jpg

ARCA CRA Super Series Banquet News and Notes


2019 ARCA CRA Super Series powered by Jegs driving champion Greg Van Alst received top honors at Friday night’s 23rd annual CRA Championship Awards Banquet, held at the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Union Station. He was also the recipient of the Sunoco Race Fuels Sportsman of the Year for the series. Van Alst, by winning the ARCA CRA Series title, will be one of four drivers featured in the ARCA Road To Daytona Jan. 10-11 at Daytona Int’l Speedway. The Road To Daytona is part of the annual Daytona ARCA Test in advance of the 2020 ARCA Menards Series season opening Lucas Oil 200 driven by General Tire Sat. Feb. 8. Other ARCA regional champions who will participate include reigning ARCA Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year Gabe Sommers, 2019 ARCA Menards Series East champion Sam Mayer and 2019 ARCA Menards Series West champion Derek Kraus. The champions will drive ARCA Menards Series cars from Andy Hillenburg’s Fast Track Racing stable with support from Ilmor Engines, General Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Eibach Springs, JRi Shocks, Fast Track High Performance Driving School and ARCA.

Two other ARCA CRA drivers at Friday night’s banquet have ties to the Road To Daytona. Logan Runyon, who received awards as the 6th place finisher in 2019 ARCA CRA points, participated in the Road To Daytona program in January 2018 by virtue of his 2017 ARCA CRA Series championship. Josh Brock, honored Friday night as the 2019 ARCA CRA championship runnerup, was the Road To Daytona honoree in January 2019 after capturing the 2018 ARCA CRA Series championship.

Hunter Jack, whose father Brent Jack is a long time veteran and winner in ARCA Gold Cup Outlaw Late Model competition at the ARCA sanctioned Toledo Speedway, crossed the stage Friday night 3rd in ARCA CRA points. The 4th place honoree and 2019 ARCA CRA Rookie of the Year was Jack Dossey III, who ran a handful of ARCA Menards Series races in cars owned by his father Jack Dossey, in 2018.

Katie Hettinger, granddaughter of Jim Hettinger, the 1984 and 1990 ARCA Midget Series champion and all-time winningest series driver with 38 victories, was presented the Chew’s Garage Sportsman of the Year Award and placed 4th in points in the inaugural season of Victory Custom Trailers CRA Junior Late Model competition.

Terry Cook represented CRA’s major sponsor Jegs High Performance Parts at the function. Cook’s long history with ARCA begins with his father Harold Cook, many time feature winner and champion at both weekly ARCA sanctioned tracks, Toledo and Flat Rock Speedway. Terry Cook also won numerous features and earned track championships at both tracks prior to his long and successful career as a driver in the  NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series and his current role in management with Jegs.

ARCA CRA Series race official Scott Menlen was introduced as the Manager of Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway, working for Bob Sargent’s Track Enterprises promotional company. Track Enterprises promotes ARCA Menards Series races at several venues annually, including Five Flags Speedway with Tim Bryant, Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway, Elko Speedway, WWT Raceway at Gateway, the Illinois and DuQuoin State Fairgrounds, Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis and Madison Int’l Speedway with Gregg McKarns.

CRA principals Glenn Luckett and RJ Scott confirmed that ARCA will continue as the sanction body for the top level of CRA’s five touring series, the ARCA CRA Super Series, in 2020. The series was founded in 1997 and has been ARCA sanctioned since 2012.