Skip to content
Sammy Smith
Sammy Smith, driver of the No. 18 Engine Ice Toyota, sits behind the wheel during practice before the Crosley Record Pressing 200 for the ARCA Menards Series East at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway in Nashville, Tennessee, on May 8, 2021. (Silas Walker/ARCA Racing)

PRACTICE: Sammy Smith Fastest At Nashville Fairgrounds

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Sammy Smith enters the Crostley Record Pressing 200 presented by T-Mobile at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway as the ARCA Menards Series East points leader through two races in 2021.

The speed the rookie displayed in Saturday afternoon’s practice session at the 0.596-mile paved oval suggests he has a strong chance to extend that points lead in Saturday night’s race.

Running the No. 18 Engine Ice Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing, the 16-year-old Smith paced the field with a lap time of 19.680 seconds / 109.024 mph.

RELATED: Complete Nashville Practice Results

Smith spent the majority of the session atop the speed chart. After briefly losing the top spot late in the session, he set the fastest speed on his 36th and final practice lap.

Another East Series rookie, Daniel Dye, was second fastest with a lap time of 19.770 seconds / 108.528 mph. Parker Retzlaff was third quickest with a lap time of 19.782 seconds / 108.462 mph.

Mason Mingus, the local driver from the Nashville area who will race on the ARCA Menards platform for the first time since 2017 on Saturday night, logged the fourth best lap time (19.785 seconds / 108.446 mph). Joey Iest was fifth quickest (19.817 seconds / 108.271 mph).

Conner Jones, Max Gutiérrez, Rajah Caruth, Mason Diaz and Carson Kvapil rounded out the top 10 in practice.

Single-car qualifying for the Crosley Record Pressing 200 presented by T-Mobile is scheduled for 4:15 p.m. CT / 5:15 p.m. ET.

The race is scheduled to start at 8:30 p.m. CT / 9:30 p.m. ET. It will be shown live on TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold.