Skip to content
Chandler Smith, driver of the #20 JBL Toyota, races during the Royal Truck & Trailer 200 for the ARCA Menards Series on September 12, 2020 at Toledo Speedway in Toledo, Ohio. (Nic Antaya/ARCA Racing)
Saturday's Herr’s Potato Chips 200 will be the 81st time the ARCA Menards Series has visited its home track since 1963. (Nic Antaya/ARCA Racing)

Track Spotlight: Toledo Speedway

Built in what was a tomato patch in rural northern Toledo just a mile from the Michigan state line, Toledo Speedway opened for business in June 1960 and has been one of the prominent paved short tracks in the Midwest for 60 years.

ToledoThe first race, for supermodifieds, was won by Toledo driver Al Beale.

The track started as dirt but was paved shortly thereafter.

The track has played host to virtually every major touring series over the course of its history, from USAC Thunder & Lightning Sprint Cars and Midgets, the American Speed Association late models, ISMA Supermodifieds and Auto Value Bumper to Bumper winged sprint cars, and the ARCA Menards Series.

TRACK: Toledo Speedway
CITY: Toledo, Ohio
LOCATION: 5639 Benore Rd, Toledo, OH 43612
LAYOUT: Half-mile, high-banked paved oval; Turns banked 14 degrees
OPENED: 1960


The Herr’s Potato Chips 200 will be the 81st time the ARCA Menards Series has visited its home track since 1963, and the series 1,498th race since its inception in 1953.

ARCA’s all-time winner Frank Kimmel earned the first of his 80 career series wins at Toledo in May, 1994.

He’s the winningest ARCA driver at the track with nine wins. More recently, NASCAR Cup Series drvier Chris Buescher won four times between 2010-12, while rising young drivers such as Todd Gilliland (2015), Harrison Burton (2017), Zane Smith (2018) and Chandler Smith (2019) have won in recent years.

RELATED: Looking Back: Wild Finale Nets Justin Allgaier 2008 ARCA Championship | PIT BOX: Championship race begins to pick up speed in Toledo

Last year, Toldeo hosted four ARCA races.

The track held the first race back in June following the break caused by the COVID-19 pandemic with Ty Gibbs winning the ARCA Menards Series East race. The ARCA Menards Series ran a doubleheader weekend at the end of July, that was stretched an extra day by rain, and saw Sam Mayer sweep. And the series returned again in September, with Mayer again picking up the victory.

The track’s signature event is the annual Glass City 200, which in recent years has featured the ARCA Moran Chevrolet Gold Cup Late Models, which feature outlaw-style bodies, and the ARCA/CRA Super Series for template-bodied late models.

Johnny VanDoorn won the 2019 ARCA/CRA Super Series portion of the Central Transport Glass City 200 presented by Hampton Inn & Courtyard by Marriott in September, while former NASCAR Pinty’s Series champion Cayden Lapcevich won the ARCA Gold Cup Late Model portion.

RELATED: ARCA Menards Series Race Among Toledo Speedway’s 2021 Season Kickoff Events

Winners at Toledo include some of the biggest names in all of motorsports. Rusty Wallace set the 300-lap track record at Toledo on his way to victory in the 1983 ASA race on the highbanks, while former NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series winner Joe Ruttman was a multiple-time winner in late model competition at Toledo, including the 1969 Glass City 200. Former Indy 500 pole winner Pancho Carter has a USAC sprint car win on his resume at Toledo, as does 1983 500 winner Tom Sneva.

The winged sprint cars are, unsurprisingly, the fastest around the ultra-quick Toledo layout with the track record held by Aaron Pierce in 2015 at 12.220 seconds/147.299 miles per hour.

NASCAR Gander Trucks playoff challenger Tyler Ankrum won the ARCA/CRA Super Series portion of the 2018 Glass City 200.