Dover Motor Speedway
(Photo: Timothy Nwachukwu/NASCAR)

Track profile: Dover Motor Speedway

For years, Dover Motor Speedway has served as one of the premier stops on the ARCA Menards Series East calendar.

The track affectionately known as the “Monster Mile” has proven to be a true challenge of skill and determination for some of auto racing’s top drivers, with several of them finding Victory Lane with the East Series through the years.

Among the stars to win in East Series competition are drivers like Mark Martin, Ken Schrader, Harry Gant, Aric Almirola, Bubba Wallace, Austin Hill, Harrison Burton and, most recently, Ty Gibbs.

Below is everything to know about Dover Motor Speedway.

Dover Motor Speedway

Track Profile

Dms 1080x180 425x226

Track Dover Motor Speedway
Location Dover, Delaware
Opened 1969
Layout Oval
Surface Concrete
Length One mile
Banking 24 degrees in corners; Nine degrees in straightaways
Seating capacity 95,000
2021 pole speed 155.387 mph (Ty Gibbs)

After construction began in 1966, Dover Motor Speedway opened in 1969 as a unique, dual-purpose facility for both horse racing and motorsports. The first NASCAR Cup Series race at the venue was held on what was then a one-mile asphalt oval that same season, with Richard Petty winning the Mason-Dixon 300 on July 6, 1969.

By 1971, all other non-NASCAR motorsports events were removed from the Dover calendar so the track could focus on hosting two NASCAR Cup Series races per season. The track later added a race for the NASCAR Sportsman division, the precursor to the NASCAR Xfinity Series, in 1982.

The track welcomed what is now the ARCA Menards Series East for the first time in 1987, with Mark Martin scoring the victory against a field that included Rusty Wallace, Dale Jarrett, Jack Ingram and Harry Gant, among others.

In 1995 Dover received a new surface as track officials replaced the asphalt with concrete, making the facility the second on the NASCAR Cup Series schedule alongside Bristol Motor Speedway to have a concrete racing surface. Kyle Petty would win the first race on the new concrete surface later that season.

Last year it was announced that Speedway Motorsports, the owner of venues like Charlotte Motor Speedway, had acquired the facility as part of an agreement that also included the purchase of Nashville Superspeedway. The track, which had been known as Dover International Speedway since 2002, was renamed Dover Motor Speedway following the acquisition.

More about Dover Motor Speedway

FOLLOW DOVER: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

A general view during the General Tire 125 for the ARCA Menards Series East at Dover International Speedway in Dover, Delaware on Friday, August 21, 2020. (Timothy Nwachukwu/NASCAR)
A general view during the General Tire 125 for the ARCA Menards Series East at Dover on Friday, Aug. 21, 2020. (Timothy Nwachukwu/NASCAR)

East Series Results at Dover

Year Date Winner
1987-05 5/30/87 Mark Martin
1987-19 9/19/87 Rick Mast
1988-08 6/4/88 Bobby Hillin, Jr.
1988-22 9/17/88 Michael Waltrip
1989-08 6/3/89 Rick Wilson
1989-22 9/16/89 Ken Schrader
1990-08 6/2/90 Michael Waltrip
1990-22 9/15/90 Harry Gant
1991-22 9/14/91 Harry Gant
1992-08 6/1/92 Robert Pressley
1998-09 7/18/98 Jimmy Spencer
2001-18 9/21/01 Dale Shaw
2002-17 9/20/02 Matt Kobyluck
2004-13 9/24/04 Dale Quarterley
2005-11 9/23/05 Andy Santerre
2006-10 9/22/06 Tim Andrews
2007-13 9/21/07 Sean Caisse
2008-12 9/19/08 Aric Almirola
2009-11 9/25/09 Brett Moffitt
2010-10 9/24/10 Brett Moffitt
2011-12 9/30/11 Bubba Wallace
2012-12 9/28/12 Corey LaJoie
2013-13 9/27/13 Austin Hill
2014-16 9/26/14 Austin Hill
2015-14 10/3/15 Collin Cabre
2016-14 9/30/16 Kyle Benjamin
2017-14 9/29/17 Harrison Burton
2018-14 10/6/18 Ruben Garcia, Jr.
2019-12 10/4/19 Sam Mayer
2020-03 8/21/20 Sam Mayer
2021-04 5/14/21 Ty Gibbs