Teams prepare their cars for the General Tire 200 for the ARCA Menards Series at Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, Alabama, on April 23, 2022. (Dustin Chambers/ARCA Racing)
(Photo: Dustin Chambers/ARCA Racing)

PIT BOX: Stacked ARCA Menards Series field ready take on Talladega Superspeedway

After a few weeks off, the ARCA Menards Series season resumes with its annual visit to one of the fastest race tracks in the United States. Talladega Superspeedway welcomes the series for the 62nd time Saturday for the running of the General Tire 200 (11:30 a.m CT/12:30 p.m. ET on FS1).

ARCA Menards Series competitors took on Talladega for the first time during the track’s inaugural season in 1969, with Jim Vandiver scoring his maiden ARCA Menards Series victory that October.

Through the years, a number of familiar faces have earned trips to Victory Lane at Talladega in ARCA competition, including drivers like Alabama Gang members Davey Allison and Red Farmer.

Other notable names to score wins at the 2.66-mile asphalt oval include NASCAR Hall of Famer Mark Martin, Frank Kimmel, Ramo Stott, Charlie Glotzbach, Tim Steele, Justin Allgaier, Jesse Love and Bobby Gerhart. Current NASCAR Cup Series drivers Justin Haley, Ty Dillon, Zane Smith and Todd Gilliland are also ARCA winners at Talladega.

Grant Adcox is the winningest driver in ARCA Menards Series competition at Talladega with five victories, four of which came in consecutive events from 1986-87.

Tickets for the General Tire 150 can be purchased here. Below is everything you need to know for Saturday’s ARCA Menards Series race at Talladega.

Talladega Superspeedway
The start of the General Tire 200 for the ARCA Menards Series at Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, Alabama, on April 22, 2023. (Photo: Dustin Chambers/ARCA Racing)

General Tire 200 at Talladega Superspeedway


24 General Tire 200 RgbThere is only one previous Talladega Superspeedway ARCA Menards Series winner entered in Saturday’s General Tire 200. He also just so happens to be the most recent ARCA Menards Series winner at Daytona International Speedway.

That driver is Gus Dean, who scored his first ARCA Menards Series victory at Talladega as a rookie in 2016. He’ll be one of the most experienced drivers in the field when the green flag waves Saturday.

The Venturini Motorsports competitor will go to battle against a talented field of competitors as he looks to earn the fourth victory of his career. Among those he’ll be up against are four Venturini Motorsports teammates, Jake Finch, Amber Balcaen, Toni Breidinger and Kris Wright.

Rev Racing will again have a pair of entries for Talladega, with Andres Perez joined by rookie Lavar Scott. Greg Van Alst, the 2023 Daytona winner and current ARCA Menards Series championship points leader, will be in the field and should be considered among the top contenders to win.

NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series regular Tanner Gray will again join the fray as the driver of the No. 18 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing. Thomas Annunziata, who finished second to Dean at Daytona in February, returns for his second ARCA Menards Series start in Jeff McClure’s No. 44 Chevrolet.

Tim Richmond, who qualified second at Daytona, is back in his family-owned No. 27 Toyota. Also entered is Sean Corr, who finished fifth at Talladega one season ago.

Additional familiar faces scheduled to compete Saturday include Andy Jankowiak, Christian Rose, Caleb Costner, Ryan Roulette, Ryan Huff, A.J. Moyer, Jason Kitzmiller and Alex Clubb.

The complete entry list for the General Tire 200 is available here.

Talladega Superspeedway
Action during the General Tire 200 for the ARCA Menards Series at Talladega Superspeedway in Talladega, Alabama, on April 23, 2022. (Photo: Dustin Chambers/ARCA Racing)



RACE General Tire 200
PLACE Talladega Superspeedway
LOCATION Talladega, Alabama
DATE Saturday, April 20, 2024
TIME 11:30 a.m. CT / 12:30 p.m. ET
HOW TO WATCH FS1 / Fox Sports App
TRACK LAYOUT 2.66-mile superspeedway

CREW CHIEF HANDOUT: The starting field for the General Tire 200 is limited to 36 starters by 2023 owner points plus up to four (4) additional by speed. This event will run under the 2024 ARCA Menards Series rules, procedures, regulations and specifications.

QUALIFYING: No qualifying. Positions 1-36 set by 2023 ARCA Menards Series car owner points plus up to four (4) additional starters by speed (positions 37-40).

RACE PIT STOP: Modified live pit stop procedure. There will be a scheduled caution at or near Lap 38.

TIRE ALLOTMENT: Per ARCA Rulebook, maximum number of tires allowed in pit box for use in race is eight (8). No adding or removing tires to or from pit box once race has started.