PIT BOX: Big weekend at Iowa Speedway ahead for ARCA and East Series competitors

A big weekend awaits competitors in both the ARCA Menards Series and the ARCA Menards Series East as the two tours come together for the running of the Atlas 150 at Iowa Speedway on Friday, June 14 (8 p.m. ET on FS1).

Friday’s Atlas 150 serves as the opening race of a landmark weekend at Iowa that includes the first NASCAR Cup Series race at the 7/8-mile oval. This is far from the first time ARCA has raced at Iowa, though, with the venue previously welcoming the series 17 times dating back to 2006, when Steve Wallace found Victory Lane.

Other notable winners in ARCA competition at Iowa include Frank Kimmel, Parker Kligerman, Ty Dillon, Alex Bowman, Grant Enfinger, Mason Mitchell, Chase Briscoe, Sheldon Creed, Chandler Smith, Ty Gibbs, Brandon Jones and, the most recent winner, Luke Fenhaus.

The East Series is also no stranger to Iowa, either, having raced at the track 20 times since 2007 with drivers like Joey Logano, Kyle Busch, Brett Moffitt, Chase Elliott, Corey LaJoie, Cole Custer, Ben Rhodes, Todd Gilliland and Sam Mayer earning victories. The last three trips to Iowa for ARCA and the East Series have served as combination events that award points to drivers for both series.

Tickets to Friday’s Atlas 150 are available here. Below is everything you need to know about Friday’s ARCA/East Series combination event.

Iowa Speedway
Drivers prepare for a restart during the Calypso 150 at Iowa Speedway on July 15, 2023. (Photo: Matthew Putney/ARCA Racing)

Atlas 150 at Iowa Speedway

24 Iowa Atlasroofing150 4c

Six races into the 2024 ARCA Menards Series season, six different drivers have reached Victory Lane.

That trend could continue Friday with the Atlas 150 as several drivers continue pursuit of their first victories this season.

Headlining that list is Rev Racing’s Andres Perez, the current ARCA Menards Series championship points leader. He sat on the pole and led eight laps in the most recent event at Charlotte Motor Speedway last month before settling for a third-place finish. He ran sixth one year ago at Iowa.

Two other notable drivers who could visit Victory Lane for the first time this year are Gio Ruggiero and Lavar Scott. Ruggiero has a win in East Series competition at Florida’s Five Flags Speedway with Venturini Motorsports, and he ran second in the ARCA/West Series combination event at Phoenix.

Scott, meanwhile, is looking to continue his strong start to his rookie ARCA Menards Series campaign with Rev Racing after registering a fifth-place finish at Charlotte. He raced near the front last year at Iowa before finishing fourth.

William Sawalich dominated the ARCA race last year at Iowa, but a late-race restart proved his downfall when Luke Fenhaus managed to steal the lead and hang on to score his first ARCA Menards Series win. Sawalich will look to earn a bit of redemption with a win Friday in the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota.

Sigma Performance Services, fresh off a West Series win Friday at Sonoma Raceway with Sam Mayer behind the wheel of the No. 23 Chevrolet, will join the fray at Iowa Speedway with Mason Mitchell set to make his first ARCA Menards Series start since 2018. Mitchell is the only previous Iowa winner entered in Friday’s race; he triumphed at the track in 2015.

Other notable entries include East Series championship leader Connor Zilisch, Marco Andretti, Gus Dean, Greg Van Alst, Christian Rose, Toni Breidinger, Andy Jankowiak, Amber Balcaen, Kris Wright and Cody Dennison, among others.

The complete entry list for Friday’s Atlas 150 can be viewed here.

Luke Fenhaus, driver of the #28 Chevrolet Performance Chevrolet celebrates winning the Calypso 150 for the ARCA Menards Series and the ARCA Menards Series East at Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa on July 15, 2023. (Matthew Putney/ARCA Racing)
Luke Fenhaus celebrates winning the Calypso 150 at Iowa Speedway on July 15, 2023. (Photo: Matthew Putney/ARCA Racing)



Race Atlas 150
PLACE Iowa Speedway
LOCATION Newton, Iowa
DATE Friday, June 14, 2024
TIME 7 p.m. CT/8 p.m. ET
TRACK LAYOUT 0.875-mile oval
LAPS 150

CREW CHIEF HANDOUT: The starting field for the Atlas 150 is limited to 28 starters plus provisionals. This event will run under the 2024 ARCA Menards Series rules, procedures, regulations and specifications.

Starting lineup set by speeds in Timed Session qualifying, plus provisionals. No adjustments or repairs may be made on car after entering pit road to qualify. All cars must make a qualifying attempt, and all drivers must practice before they can qualify.

Break pit stop procedure. Breaks at or near the conclusion of laps 50 and 100. No adding or moving tires to or from pit box once race has started.

The maximum tire use at track (total, “from home” plus purchased at track) for the event is 14. Per ARCA Rulebook, maximum number of tires allowed in pit box for use in race is six (6).