Rookie Boston says thumbs-up for dirt debut on Springfield mile dirt; Allen Crowe 100 Sunday

(CONCORD, N.C. - August 16, 2013) - In a season of many firsts, Venturini Motorsports driver Justin Boston has another one headed his way this Sunday when the 51st annual Allen Crowe Memorial 100 at the Illinois State Fairgrounds mile dirt comes to life alongside the 161st annual Illinois State Fair.

Boston, driver of the No. 25 ZLOOP Computer and Electronics Recycling Toyota, is in the midst of a successful ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards rookie campaign. 

"I can't wait to get on the dirt this weekend, said Boston. "This will be an entirely new challenge for me just like running my first plate race at Daytona earlier in the season. Besides my motocross background, I've never raced a car on dirt. The experience I'm gaining this year is amazing. My confidence is building."

Boston, a true rookie in every sense of the term, entered the 2013 ARCA season with less than 20 stock car events to his credit. The motocross racer turned stock car driver has adapted quickly to his new surroundings stringing together an impressive showing as of late earning four top-five finishes and 11 top-10s in his first 14 events.

Boston earned over 300 victories in motocross before making the transition to stock car racing.

"Each and every week I'm putting myself in a better position to become more consistent regardless of the track or surface we run on. This week with little practice scheduled at Springfield I'll lean heavily on the dirt experience of my VMS teammate, Brennan Poole, to help bring me up to speed so we can continue our upward swing."

Boston is currently fourth in national championship point standings behind leaders Frank Kimmel, Mason Mingus and Tom Hessert, and is battling Mingus for SCOTT Rookie Challenge of the Year honors.

In last year's Springfield race, nine-time series champion Frank Kimmel out-dueled the pack to earn a record eighth career victory at Springfield. Kimmel is currently tied with Iggy Katona in all-time ARCA wins, each with 79.

Over the years, Allen Crowe 100 winners include Curtis Turner ('63), Don White ('66, '67, '72), Al Unser ('72), Jack Bowsher ('73), Roger McCluskey ('74), Ramo Stott ('76, '77, '80), AJ Foyt ('79), Joe Ruttman ('80), Dean Roper ('81, '82, '83, '83, '85, '86), Bob Keselowski ('87, '88, '89, '93), Bobby Bowsher ('91, '92), Tim Steele (‘96, '97), Ken Schrader ('98), Bill Baird ('99, '04), Justin Allgaier ('06), Parker Kligerman ('09), and Kimmel ('00, '01, '02. '03, '05, '07, '08, ‘12).

Practice for the Allen Crowe 100 is scheduled from 9:00-10:00 a.m. with Menards Pole Qualifying presented by Ansell following at 11:15. The Allen Crowe Memorial 100 starts at 1:30 p.m. All times are local.

The Allen Crowe Memorial 100 will also be the third ARCA Racing Series race that will be broadcast on NBC Sports Network. NBC Sports Network's ARCA racing coverage of the Allen Crowe Memorial 100 premieres Friday, August 23 at 11 p.m. ET.