Marcum Award Honors Positive Effort, Contribution

Marcum Award Honors Positive Effort, Contribution

(TOLEDO, Ohio - November 26, 2012) - The Marcum Award is named for ARCA founders John and Mildred Marcum, and is presented every year to honor an individual or entity whose positive efforts have elevated ARCA's motorsports stature to the benefit of all.

Annually, the award presentation is a highlight at the Championship Awards Banquet, which celebrates the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards season.

ARCA president and CEO Ron Drager presented the award last season to Ken Schrader, who for years as a driver, car owner, and broadcaster has represented ARCA prominently and with the utmost respect.

Like the Spirit Award and the H.G. Adcox Sportsman of the Year Award, the recipient of the annual Marcum Award is a surprise, unveiled only at the December 8 Championship Awards Banquet in Indianapolis.

Who will win the 2012 Marcum Award? All past recipients are listed below, and one key ARCA name will join that list in just 12 days.

Marcum Award

Year and Winner

2011 - Ken Schrader

2010 - Bill and Cathy Venturini

2009 - Bill Kimmel Sr.

2008 - Mike Allgaier

2007 - Mark Gibson

2006 - Julie Bowsher

2005 - Bob Sargent

2004 - Randy Morse

2003 - Bobby Allison

2002 - Benny Parsons

2001 - Jim Clarke

2000 - Bondo/Mar-Hyde Corp.

1999 - Racing Electronics

1998 - International Motorsports Hall of Fame

1997 - Jack Bowsher

1996 - The Bob Loga Family

1995 - Grant Lynch

1994 - Mildred Marcum

1993 - STP Corporation

1992 - Jim Foster

1991 - Doc and Rose Mattioli, Pocono Raceway

1990 - Bill Oldani, Illinois State Fairgrounds and DuQuoin State Fairgrounds

1989 - Walter Nix, Atlanta Motor Speedway

1988 - John Cooper, Daytona International Speedway

1987 - Dick Dolan, Unocal 76

1986 - John Litton

1985 - Jim Stovall

1984 - Don Naman

1983 - John Fox, Loctite Corporation

1982 - Bob Dotter

Tickets are now on sale for the celebration which will wrap ARCA's 60th Anniversary Season.

Champion Chris Buescher, other top series drivers and special award winners, and key ARCA figures will be honored in the series' first postseason trip to Indianapolis.

The banquet will be held on Saturday, December 8 at the Indiana Convention Center's Sagamore Ballroom in Indianapolis, Indiana, in conjunction with the International Motorsports Industry Show (IMIS). The public is welcome.

For more information on the banquet, click here.

Click here for pricing information and the link to purchase tickets.

The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards has crowned 30 ARCA national champions in 60 seasons since 1953, and has toured over 200 race tracks in 26 states since its inception. The series has tested the abilities of drivers and race teams over the most diverse schedule of stock car racing events in the world, visiting tracks ranging from 0.375 mile to 2.66 miles in length, on both paved and dirt surfaces as well as a left- and right-turn road course in its most recent season. This year, the series visited Alabama's Mobile International Speedway and Minnesota's Elko Speedway for the first time. Next season, ARCA will appear for the first time at Road America in Wisconsin.

Founded by John and Mildred Marcum in 1953 in Toledo, Ohio, the Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is recognized among the leading sanctioning bodies in the country. Closing in on completing its sixth decade after hundreds of thousands of miles of racing, ARCA administers over 100 race events each season in four professional touring series and local weekly events.