Poole to Accept Hoosier Speedway Award in Indy

(TOLEDO, Ohio - November 29, 2012) - Brennan Poole finished a solid fourth in the season finale at Kansas Speedway last month to wrap up the Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge Award.

Poole and team owner Cathy Venturini will accept the $10,000 award next Saturday at the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Championship Awards Banquet in Indianapolis. In seven speedway starts this year, Poole finished in the top five four times, including in a win at Pocono in June. He was also second at Chicagoland in July and at Pocono in August.

The Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge Award is given to the owner of the ARCA Racing Series team scoring the most race points - not counting qualifying or lap bonuses - in the seven races at Daytona International Speedway, Talladega Superspeedway, Pocono Raceway (two), Michigan International Speedway, Chicagoland Speedway, and Kansas Speedway.

Based in Lakeville, Ind., Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. produces the Official Tire of the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards and is part of one of the longest-standing sponsor relationships in ARCA's 60-year history. Hoosier has participated as a supplier for ARCA-sanctioned events since the 1960s and has been the exclusive tire provider for the ARCA Racing Series since 1995.

Poole and Venturini finished the competition with a series-high 1260 points, 105 points ahead of owner Duke Thorson and driver Frank Kimmel. Overall series champions Russell Roulo and Chris Buescher were third in the category after winning in 2011. Past award winners are listed below. 

Year - Winning Owner and Driver(s)

1984 - Davey Allison (Davey Allison)

1985 - Bill Collins (Davey Allison)

1986 - Jim Coyle (Lee Raymond)

1987 - Cathy Venturini (Bill Venturini)

1988 - Don Biederman (Tracy Leslie)

1989 - Hank Jones (Ben Hess)

1990 - Shelly Brevak (Bob Brevak)

1991 - Cathy Venturini (Bill Venturini)

1992 - Ron Keselowski (Bob Keselowski)

1993 - James Finch (Jeff Purvis)

1994 - James Finch (Jeff Purvis)

1995 - Barry Owen (Mike Wallace)

1996 - Harold Steele (Tim Steele)

1997 - Kerry Scherer (Mark Gibson)

1998 - Larry Clement (Frank Kimmel)

1999 - Ken Schrader (Bill Baird)

2000 - Mark Thompson (Bob Strait)

2001 - Larry Clement (Frank Kimmel)

2002 - Todd Braun (Chad Blount)

2003 - Larry Clement (Frank Kimmel)

2004 - Bill Gerhart (Bobby Gerhart, Blake Feese, Kyle Krisiloff)

2005 - Larry Clement (Frank Kimmel)

2006 - Larry Clement (Frank Kimmel)

2007 - Ray Evernham (Erin Crocker)

2008 - Eddie Sharp (Scott Speed)

2009 - Jessica Sharp (Justin Lofton)

2010 - Patrick Sheltra (Patrick Sheltra)

2011 - Russell Roulo (Chris Buescher)

2012 - Cathy Venturini (Brennan Poole)

Tickets are now on sale for the celebration which will wrap ARCA's 60th Anniversary Season.

Champion Chris Buescher, other top series drivers and special award winners, and key ARCA figures will be honored in the series' first postseason trip to Indianapolis.

The banquet will be held on Saturday, December 8 at the Indiana Convention Center's Sagamore Ballroom in Indianapolis, Indiana, in conjunction with the International Motorsports Industry Show (IMIS). The public is welcome.

For more information on the banquet, click here.

Click here for pricing information and the link to purchase tickets.

The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards has crowned 30 ARCA national champions in 60 seasons since 1953, and has toured over 200 race tracks in 26 states since its inception. The series has tested the abilities of drivers and race teams over the most diverse schedule of stock car racing events in the world, visiting tracks ranging from 0.375 mile to 2.66 miles in length, on both paved and dirt surfaces as well as a left- and right-turn road course in its most recent season. This year, the series visited Alabama's Mobile International Speedway and Minnesota's Elko Speedway for the first time. Next season, ARCA will appear for the first time at Road America in Wisconsin.

Founded by John and Mildred Marcum in 1953 in Toledo, Ohio, the Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is recognized among the leading sanctioning bodies in the country. Closing in on completing its sixth decade after hundreds of thousands of miles of racing, ARCA administers over 100 race events each season in four professional touring series and local weekly events.