Prestigious France Four Crown Going to Buescher

Prestigious France Four Crown Going to Buescher

(TOLEDO, Ohio - December 5, 2012) - In the midst of receiving his championship honors at Saturday's ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Championship Awards Banquet, Chris Buescher will take home another prestigious prize.

Buescher (No. 17 Roulo Brothers Racing Ford) is the 2012 winner of the $3000 Bill France Four Crown Award, which rewards drivers for success on a diverse slate of tracks. He finished with 765 of a possible 800 points, edging Frank Kimmel (725) and Alex Bowman (710).

The Four Crown schedule provides a link to the series' roots, featuring a diverse combination of tracks in any given season. This year's schedule included Michigan International Speedway (superspeedway), New Jersey Motorsports Park (road course), the Illinois State Fairgrounds at Springfield (dirt), and Salem Speedway (short track).

"The Bill France Four Crown Award speaks to the very nature of the ARCA Racing Series," said Ron Drager, president and CEO of ARCA. "Being the full-bodied stock car series that runs on speedways, road courses, short tracks, and dirt ovals, this is the epitome of what our series is about."

Buescher won at Michigan, finished third at New Jersey, and finished fifth at Springfield. However, Kimmel gained on Buescher significantly at Springfield, where the nine-time ARCA champion earned a record eighth career victory on the Illinois State Fairgrounds mile dirt. Buescher, though, finished second at Salem in September to seal the award.

"The namesake of the award is especially important; the fact that it's named after Bill France," said Gary Roulo, crew chief and car co-owner for Buescher. "That's a big deal in our industry. And the fact that the award represents the versatility of the series is also very important. It's a very prestigious award."

Four Crown points are allocated without qualifying or in-race bonuses, and distributed in the same method as in the official series standings.

Kimmel is the all-time Bill France Four Crown champion with six titles. Other Four Crown champions over the years include Joey Coulter, Parker Kligerman, Jason Jarrett, Tim Steele, Bob Keselowski, Bobby Bowsher, Bill Venturini, Grant Adcox, Lee Raymond, and Davey Allison. Thirteen of the last 29 ARCA Racing Series champions have also won the Bill France Four Crown in that season.

Past Bill France Four Crown Award Champions:

1984 - Davey Allison
1985 - Lee Raymond
1986 - Lee Raymond
1987 - Grant Adcox
1988 - Grant Adcox
1989 - Tracy Leslie
1990 - Bob Keselowski
1991 - Bobby Bowsher/Bill Venturini (Tie)
1992 - Bobby Bowsher
1993 - Bob Keselowski
1994 - Bob Hill
1995 - Harris DeVane
1996 - Tim Steele
1997 - Tim Steele
1998 - Frank Kimmel
1999 - Bill Baird
2000 - Tim Steele
2001 - Frank Kimmel
2002 - Frank Kimmel
2003 - Jason Jarrett
2004 - Brent Sherman
2005 - Frank Kimmel
2006 - Blake Bjorklund
2007 - Frank Kimmel 
2008 - Frank Kimmel
2009 - Parker Kligerman
2010 - Joey Coulter
2011 - Chad McCumbee
2012 - Chris Buescher

Buescher, other top series drivers and special award winners, and key ARCA figures will be honored in the series' first postseason trip to Indianapolis. The ARCA Racing Series Championship Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, December 8 at the Indiana Convention Center's Sagamore Ballroom in Indianapolis, Indiana, in conjunction with the International Motorsports Industry Show (IMIS).

The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards has crowned 30 ARCA national champions in 60 seasons since 1953, and has toured over 200 race tracks in 26 states since its inception. The series has tested the abilities of drivers and race teams over the most diverse schedule of stock car racing events in the world, visiting tracks ranging from 0.375 mile to 2.66 miles in length, on both paved and dirt surfaces as well as a left- and right-turn road course in its most recent season. This year, the series visited Alabama's Mobile International Speedway and Minnesota's Elko Speedway for the first time. Next season, ARCA will appear for the first time at Road America in Wisconsin.

Founded by John and Mildred Marcum in 1953 in Toledo, Ohio, the Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is recognized among the leading sanctioning bodies in the country. Closing in on completing its sixth decade after hundreds of thousands of miles of racing, ARCA administers over 100 race events each season in four professional touring series and local weekly events.