Road to 50th Daytona Race Stands Wide Open with Testing Scheduled for Next Weekend; 35 Entered

(DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - December 7, 2012) - The road to Daytona is officially open, and the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards is first up on the 2.5-mile Daytona International Speedway with three days of open testing, December 14-16.

The open test is in preparation for the 50th annual Daytona ARCA 200, which will air live on SPEED at 4:30 on Saturday, February 16. The series made its superspeedway debut at Daytona in 1964. This afternoon, officials from Daytona International Speedway and the 2013 race sponsor will unveil the name for the race at the International Motorsports Industry Show in Indianapolis, where ARCA will hold its Championship Awards Banquet tomorrow night.

Eight-time Daytona winner Bobby Gerhart and 2011 series champion Chris Buescher highlight the list of well over 30 drivers already signed up.

Gerhart, from Lebanon, Pa., will be going for his fourth consecutive Daytona victory, a feat never before accomplished in ARCA competition at Daytona. Gerhart is already the first ARCA driver to ever win three consecutive at the "World Center of Racing," achieving that for the first time in 2005, 2006 and 2007. Gerhart is also expected to test a second car with Mooresville, N.C.'s Brian Smith driving.

Buescher, of Prosper, Texas, finished second to Gerhart at Daytona in 2011, one year before winning four races to seal his first championship and the first title for Roulo Brothers Racing.

Venturini Motorsports currently has two drivers entered, with rookie Justin Boston signed up for the team's No. 25 car. ARCA and NASCAR veteran John Wes Townley is also expected to test for Venturini Motorsports.

The garage will open each day at 7 a.m. and close at 5:30 p.m. The track will be open for practice from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., with a break for lunch from noon to 1 each day. will feature live timing and scoring for all on-track activity. The current list of expected test entries is below.

ARCA Racing Series pres. by Menards    
Daytona Int'l Speedway, Daytona Beach Florida, 12/14-16/12  
Open Test Entry List    
  As of 12-5-12, 3:39 PM ET    
5 Bobby Gerhart/Lebanon PA Bobby Gerhart Racing Chevrolet Bill Gerhart
5 Brian Smith/Mooresville NC Bobby Gerhart Racing Chevrolet Bill Gerhart
6 Julien Jousse/Les Issambres France ESR Chevrolet Eddie Sharp
7 Brent Cross/Cortland NY Brent Cross Racing Chevrolet Bill Gerhart
10 Dakota Carlson/Cedar Springs MI Fast Track Racing Ford Andy Hillenburg
10 Travis Braden/Wheeling WV Fast Track Racing Ford Andy Hillenburg
10 Jonathan Eilen/Hampton MN Fast Track Racing Ford Andy Hillenburg
10 Johnny VanDoorn/Coopersville MI Fast Track Racing Ford Andy Hillenburg
16 TBA Coulter Motorsports Chevrolet Joe Coulter
17 Chris Buescher/Prosper TX Roulo Brothers Racing Ford Russ Roulo
18 Richard Doheny/Ballston Spa NY Fast Track Racing Ford Dave McClure
22 TBA Cunningham Motorsports Kerry Scherer
23 Spencer Gallagher/Las Vegas NV Allegiant Air Chevrolet Maury Gallagher
25 Justin Boston/Mooresville NC Venturini Motorsports Toyota Cathy Venturini
29 Duke Whisseant/Texarkana AR BK Racing Brian Keselowski
32 Mason Mingus/Brentwood TN Win Tron Racing Toyota Kevin Cywinski
38 Andrew Gresel/Hepworth ON Wes Gonder Racing Ford Wes Gonder
40 TBA Carter2Motorsports Roger Carter
42 Bo Lemastus/Goshen KY Crosley Radio  
58 Chad Hackenbracht/New Philadelphia OH CGS Motorsports Chevrolet Greg Hackenbracht
68 TBA Kimmel Racing Ford Bill Kimmel
69 Steve Kemp/Justin TX Kimmel Racing Ford Bill Kimmel
75 Benny Chastain/Talladhassee FL Bob Schacht Motorsports Chevrolet Bob Schacht
77 TBA Cunningham Motorsports Briggs Cunningham
88 Buster Graham/Lafayette LA Team BCR Ford Howard Bixman
92 Brennan Newberry/Bakersfield CA NTS Motorsports Chevrolet Bob Newberry
94 Milka Duno/Caracas Venezuela David Leiner Racing Toyota David Leiner
04 TBA Carter2Motorsports Roger Carter
08 Clay Campbell/Martinsville VA Spraker Racing Ford Jeff Spraker
09 Grant Enfinger/Fairhope AL Team BCR Ford Howard Bixman
09 Charles Evans/Pasadena TX Team BCR Ford Howard Bixman
  Larry Barford Jr./Denton MD Markle Racing Rick Markle
  Mason Mitchell/W. Des Moines IA    
  Matt Kurzejewski/Mansfield PA    
  Thomas Praytor/Mobile AL Praytor Racing Tommy Praytor
  Keegan Walmer/Portland OR Rick Markle Racing Rick Markle
  John Wes Townley/Watkinsville GA Venturini Motorsports Bill Venturini
  TBA DGM Racing Mario Gosselin
  George Cushman/Waterville NY Cushman Racing Chevrolet David Cushman
  Terry Jones/Amhertsburg ON Jones Group Racing Dodge Terry Jones
  Nur Ali/Karachi Pakistan Rick Ware Racing Rick Ware
  John Ferrier/Middletown NY   John Ferrier
  TBA Turner Motorsports Chevrolet Steve Turner