This Week in ARCA: Trickle Takes Atlanta

This Week in ARCA: Trickle Takes Atlanta
(TOLEDO, Ohio - November 14, 2010) - The list of ARCA Racing Series winners at Atlanta Motor Speedway is very impressive, to say the least.

And from 1983 up through 2003, ARCA held 35 races on the historic intermediate superspeedway.

While November race options were always limited for the Toledo, Ohio-based ARCA tour, Atlanta Motor Speedway in Hampton, Ga. typically provided, not only a high-profile option, but the right weather to accommodate.

This week in ARCA takes us back to November 16, 1991 when Dick Trickle steered the No. 2 Junior Johnson-owned Motorcraft-Baby Ruth Ford to victory lane at Atlanta in the 204 lap event, which equaled 500k. Trickle was followed in the running order by Mike Wallace, Bill Venturini, Dale McDowell, Bob Dotter, Ben Hess, Clifford Allison, Tim Fedewa, Ritchie Petty and Johnny Chapman to complete the top-10 respectively.

Reaching back in even further, two-time series champion Bill Venturini drove to victory lane at Atlanta on November 21, 1987 in the 96 Rock 500k in his own No. 25 Amoco Ultimate-Neotech Chevrolet. The win was unique in that Venturini's car was serviced by an all-female pit crew (below right). Venturini's Atlanta victory also helped secure his first series title. He was followed in the running order by Lee Raymond, Bobby Wawak, Bob Keselowski and Ken Bouchard. Venturini, who also won at Atlanta in 1986, won the ARCA championship in 1991 as well.

venturinipitatlanta.jpgOn November 18, 1989, Ernie Irvan drove a green No. 18 Mello Yello-All Pro Auto Parts Pontiac to victory lane in the Atlanta Journal ARCA 500k. Clay Young, in his own Young Racing Pontiac, finished second followed by brother and sister Dave Simko and Patty Simko, who finished third and fourth respectively. Mike Potter rounded out the top-five in the James Stepp Racing Chevrolet.

Other Winners at Atlanta During This Week in ARCA Include......

November 17, 1990 - Winner: Charlie Glotzbach, No. 28 Floyd Garrett Trucking Chevrolet
2nd place - Dorsey Schroeder, No. 69 Lucky Compton Racing Ford
3rd place - Bill Venturini, No. 35 Amoco Ultimate Chevrolet
4th place - Chris Gehrke, No. 19 Lean Supreme-Gehrke Trucking Oldsmobile
5th place - Scott Stovall, No. 0 AC Products-S&H Auto Sales Oldsmobile

November 20, 1999 - Winner Ron Hornaday, No. 31 NAPA Chevrolet
2nd place - Derrick Gilchrist, No. 15 Oakwood Homes Chevrolet
3rd place - Frank Kimmel, No. 46 Advance Auto Parts Chevrolet
4th place - Brian Ross, No. 67 Damon Recreational Vehicles-Biomet Chevrolet
5th place - Jason Leffler, No. 18 MBNA Pontiac

November 20, 2000 - Winner: Bob Strait, No. 66 Dauphin Tech Ford
2nd place - Justin Labonte, No. 08 Slim Jim Meat Snacks Chevrolet
3rd place - David Keith, No. 95 Shoney's Inn Fordearnhardtvlatlanta.jpg
4th place - Damon Lusk, No. 75 Racing For Christ Ministries Ford
5th place - Shawna Robinson, No. 8 Kmart-Pacific Garden Ford

November 17, 2001 - Winner: Kerry Earnhardt, No. 2 Diamond Cut Jeans Chevrolet
2nd place - Shane Hmiel, No. 55 Chevrolet
3rd place - Frank Kimmel, No. 46 Advance Auto Parts-Pork Ford
4th place - Stuart Kirby, No. 75 Combos Ford
5th place - Tim Steele, No. 16 HS Die-Softech-Willy's Carburetor Ford