SunTrust Rookies Leading the Charge in 2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series

SunTrust Rookies Leading the Charge in 2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series

TOLEDO OH (8-22-08) - Although Scott Speed, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and Matt Carter have taken turns leading the ARCA RE/MAX Series' SunTrust Rookie of the Year standings in 2008, each aforementioned driver has good reason to hope that he doesn't win the award this season. After all, if he's not holding up the SunTrust Rookie Trophy at the ARCA RE/MAX Series Championship Awards Banquet in December, there's a good chance that the leading rookie will be holding up the National Driving Championship Trophy instead.

The ARCA RE/MAX Series rulebook states that a driver cannot win the ARCA RE/MAX Series championship and the Rookie of the Year title in the same season. With the top three points positions currently occupied by SunTrust Rookie of the Year contenders, it's not unlikely that the season's top rookie will have the opportunity to forego the SunTrust title-and the $10,000 cash prize that comes with the award-in favor of the ARCA RE/MAX Series championship.

The last time that an ARCA RE/MAX Series rookie won the driving championship was when Andy Hillenburg claimed the title in 1995, allowing Harris DeVane to earn Rookie of the Year honors. That was 13 years ago-when current points leader/SunTrust rookie Speed was 12 years old. Stenhouse, Jr. was eight and Carter was 14.

A rookie driver has passed on Rookie of the Year honors in favor of the driving championship four times in the 51-year history of the award-1995, 1993, 1988 and 1981. The ARCA RE/MAX Series, which has roots dating back to 1953, has honored a top rookie since 1957.

Currently, six of the top-10 ARCA RE/MAX Series point contenders are also SunTrust Rookies. Speed leads the charge, followed by fellow rookies Stenhouse, Jr (second), Carter (third), Tom Hessert, III (sixth), Tayler Malsam (sixth) and John Wes Townley (eighth). This season, a SunTrust rookie has led the point standings 12 of 15 events. Just six races remain in 2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series.

suntrustsponsorpage.jpgWhether or not a SunTrust rookie wins the 2008 ARCA RE/MAX Series Championship, the contenders face the remainder of their careers with a racing resume that has been strengthened by a diverse ARCA RE/MAX Series schedule that includes short tracks, speedways, dirt tracks and even a road course event. Former ARCA Rookie of the Year award winners have gone on to successfully compete in a wide range of racing series, including NASCAR's top three touring divisions. Last year, Michael McDowell earned rookie honors in the ARCA RE/MAX Series and went on to a ride in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driving for Michael Waltrip Racing.

A total of five ARCA Rookie of the Years have gone on to capture ARCA RE/MAX Series championships later in their careers, including Benny Parsons, Dave Dayton, Bill Venturini, Frank Kimmel and Bill Baird. Parsons holds the distinction of being the only ARCA Rookie of the Year who has gone on to win season-ending championships in both the ARCA RE/MAX Series (1968 and 1969) and the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (1973).

Kimmel, whose storied racing career has included nine ARCA RE/MAX Series championships, an invitation to compete in the International Race of Champions (IROC) Series, along with forays into the NASCAR Sprint Cup and NACAR Craftsman Truck Series, was the 1992 ARCA RE/MAX Series Rookie of the Year.

1984 ARCA Rookie of the Year Davey Allison went on to claim the 1987 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year award.

Other former winners of the ARCA RE/MAX Series Rookie of the Year award include Blake Bjorklund, Joey Miller, TJ Bell, Jason Jarrett, Glenn Brewer, Lee Raymond and Charlie Glotzbach, to name a few.

2008 marks the first year that SunTrust Banks, Inc. has joined the ARCA family of corporate sponsors and the series' Rookie of the Year Program.

speed.jpg  stenhouse.jpg   carter.jpg  hessert.jpg  malsam.jpg townley.jpg 

 Scott Speed

Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 

Matt Carter 

Tom Hessert, III 

Tayler Malsam 

John Wes Townley 

SunTrust Banks, Inc., headquartered in Atlanta, is one of the nation's largest banking organizations, serving a broad range of consumer, commercial, corporate and institutional clients.  As of December 31, 2007, SunTrust had total assets of $179.6 billion and total deposits of $117.8 billion.  The Company operates an extensive branch and ATM network throughout the high-growth Southeast and Mid-Atlantic states and a full array of technology-based, 24-hour delivery channels.  The Company also serves customers in selected markets nationally.  Its primary businesses include deposit, credit, trust and investment services.  Through various subsidiaries the Company provides mortgage banking, insurance, brokerage, equipment leasing and capital markets services.  SunTrust's Internet address is

ARCA Rookies of the Year
2007 Michael McDowell
2006 Blake Bjorklund
2005 Joey Miller
2004 TJ Bell
2003 Bill Eversole
2002 Chad Blount
2001 Jason Jarrett
2000 Brian Ross
1999 Ron Cox
1998 Bill Baird
1997 Josh Baltes
1996 Blaise Alexander
1995 Dill Whittymore
1995 Harris DeVane
1994 Gary Bradberry
1993 Jeremy Mayfield
1992 Frank Kimmel
1991 Roy Payne
1990 Glenn Brewer
1989 Graham Taylor
1988 Bobby Gerhart
1987 Dave Weltmeyer
1986 Mark Gibson
1985 Dave Simko
1984 Davey Allison
1983 Bill Venturini
1982 Lee Raymond
1981 Gordon Blankenship
1980 Scott Stovall
1979 Steve Ellis
1978 Bob Slawinski
1977 Bill Green
1976 Tom Meinberg
1975 Woody Fisher
1974 Jerry Hufflin
1973 Bruce Gould
1972 Delmar Clark
1971 A Arnold
1970 Tom Bowsher
1969 Larry Ashley
1968 Cliff Hamm
1967 Norm Meyers
1966 Dave Dayton
1965 Benny Parsons
1964 Charlie Glotzbach
1962 Curly Mills
1961 Virgil Oakes
1959 Bob Bower
1958 Paul Wensink
1957 Bill Granger

ARCA PR/Media, office (734) 847-6726
Don Radebaugh, cell (419) 450-0611
Jackie L. Franzil, cell (419) 574-2685