Mitchell - turning 20 today - on top of S&S Volvo Laps Completed category

(TOLEDO, Ohio – June 25, 2014) – In 2012, Chris Buescher won the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards championship while driving for the Roulo Brothers. He also accomplished something else remarkable that year – he completed every lap of the entire season – the first and only driver in series history to do so.

Through eight races of the 2014 season, Mason Mitchell was on pace to accomplish what Buescher did in 2012, having completed all 1,008 laps in those eight races. However, the S&S Volvo Laps Completed leader did not finish on the lead lap at Elko Speedway, meaning no one will match Buescher’s accomplishment in 2014.

Mitchell, who turns 20 today, still leads the S&S Volvo Laps Completed contingency award category, having completed 1,255 of the 1,258 laps run in the series this year. Defending series champion Frank Kimmel is second in the standings with 1,252 laps completed.

S&S Volvo Laps Completed

1. Mason Mitchell #98


2. Frank Kimmel #44


3. Tom Hessert #77


4. John Wes Townley #15


5. Spencer Gallagher #23



As the ARCA Racing Series season nears its half-way mark, Mitchell also leads two other contingency award standings – the Fast Track Award and the Hoosier Superspeedway Challenge.

The Fast Track Award tabulates points from race finishes only. As in many of ARCA's special awards, qualifying and lap leader bonuses are not included in Fast Track Award scoring.

The standings:

Fast Track Award

1. Mason Mitchell #98


2. Kevin Cywinski #44


3. Ken Schrader #52


4. Wayne Hixson #3


5. Russ Roulo #17



The Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge title consists of race points accumulated on all of ARCA's superspeedway tracks: Daytona, Talladega, Pocono, Michigan, Chicagoland, Kentucky and Kansas. The series still has stops at Chicagoland, Pocono, Kentucky and Kansas to go. Points are awarded to the owner of the car.

The standings:

Hoosier Superspeedway Challenge

1. Mason Mitchell #98


2. Bill Venturini #15


3. Kevin Cywinski #44


4. Howard Bixman #90


5. Briggs Cunningham #77



By Doug Donnelly,