ARCA champion to be crowned in Kansas in 2015

ARCA champion to be crowned in Kansas in 2015

(TOLEDO, Ohio – November 12, 2014) – The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards will close its 2015 season with a familiar backdrop – under the Kansas City lights.

ARCA officials announced today that Kansas Speedway will host the final race of the 2015 season on October 16, when the series champ is crowned.

“For the fourth consecutive season, we will conclude the race for the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards championship at Kansas Speedway,” said ARCA President Ron Drager. “We’ve raced annually at Kansas since running the track’s inaugural event in 2001, and we appreciate the effort that (Kansas Speedway President) Pat Warren and his staff devote to making the ARCA series championship race special. We look forward to seeing which driver will add their name to the list of champions crowned at Kansas which now includes Chris Buescher, Frank Kimmel and Mason Mitchell.”

Kansas Speedway has provided the backdrop for the crowning of the ARCA champions in each of the past three seasons –Buescher in 2012, Kimmel in 2013 and Mitchell in 2014. 

"I look forward to hosting the ARCA finale again in 2015," said Warren, the Kansas Speedway president. "ARCA has put on a great race as they crown their champion after the ARCA 98.9 under the lights for the last several years. I expect the same great racing in 2015."

ARCA helped christen Kansas Speedway on June 2, 2001. The inaugural ARCA race at Kansas was half of a doubleheader with the NASCAR Winston West Series. Jason Jarrett won the ARCA race, passing Frank Kimmel for the lead with just three laps remaining. Kimmel won the Winston West race.

ARCA was the first series to race under the lights at Kansas Speedway on October 7, 2011 and the first series to race on the newly-paved speedway on October 19, 2012.

Kimmel has won three ARCA races at the track, including the 2013 race after which he was in victory lane as the race winner and series champion. Alex Bowman has two victories at the track with nine other drivers winning once on the 1.5-mile paved, variable banking track. Bowman won back-to-back races in 2011 and 2012. All-time ARCA pole winners at Kansas include Max Gresham, Dylan Kwasniewski and Ryan Newman. Bowman won from his record-setting pole in 2012 of 184.559 mph.

GMS Racing driver Spencer Gallagher won his first-ever ARCA race on October 3 when he captured the Kansas ARCA 98.9. Mason Mitchell clinched his first series championship the same night.

 “It’s one of the fastest tracks we go to and definitely a lot of fun,” said ARCA driver Justin Allison, who has raced twice on the track.

The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways.

 The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards will open its 2015 season at Daytona International Speedway on February 14. Additional dates on the 2015 schedule will be announced soon.  Here is a list of races announced thus far:






Daytona International Speedway


New Jersey Motorsports Park


Pocono Raceway


Iowa Speedway


Pocono Raceway


Kansas Speedway


Tim D.

ARCA Racing....