ARCA to be part of three days of racing at Michigan in June

ARCA to be part of three days of racing at Michigan in June

(TOLEDO, Ohio – November 18, 2014) – The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards will return to its home superspeedway in 2015, as the series will race at Michigan International Speedway for the 24th consecutive year.

 The race will be Friday, June 12 and be on the same weekend that the NASCAR Xfinity and NASCAR Sprint Cup series races at the two-mile superspeedway.

 “We are happy to have the ARCA Racing Series return to Michigan International Speedway for the Corrigan Oil 200 in June,” said Michigan International Speedway President Roger Curtis. “The series provides a great opening race to our weekend festivities and it is always fun to see the future stars compete. We consider ourselves the home speedway for ARCA and are excited for when they take the track next year.”

 Located in the Irish Hills of Brooklyn, Michigan, the renowned two-mile superspeedway is about an hour away from ARCA’s Temperance, Michigan-based home office, and has long been considered the tour’s hometown superspeedway. The ARCA brand, originating in Toledo, Ohio, is very well known and established in the area, and the customer fan base is as big as it gets anywhere on tour.

 This past summer, Venturini Motorsports went to victory lane for the second consecutive season at MIS when Maine native Austin Theriault, in his first ARCA start, won the race. Venturini driver Brennan Poole won in 2013.

 ARCA’s relationship with Michigan reaches back to 1980 when Joe Ruttman won the inaugural ARCA race event from the pole. Other former Michigan ARCA winners over the decades include Bob Keselowski, Jeff Purvis, Tim Steele, Frank Kimmel, Kerry Earnhardt, Casey Mears, Reed Sorenson, Steve Wallace, Parker Kligerman, Ty Dillon and Chris Buescher. There hasn’t been a repeat ARCA winner at Michigan since Steele pulled off the feat in 1996 and 1997.

 The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways.

 The 63rd ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards season is now taking shape as several race dates have been announced, including the season opener at Daytona International Speedway February 14 and the closing race October 16 at Kansas Speedway. More race dates will be announced in the coming days.






Daytona International Speedway


New Jersey Motorsports Park


Pocono Raceway


Michigan Int'l Speedway


Iowa Speedway


Pocono Raceway


Kansas Speedway