Kentucky Speedway returns to ARCA schedule in 2015

Kentucky Speedway returns to ARCA schedule in 2015

(TOLEDO, Ohio – November 20, 2014) – The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards will return to Kentucky Speedway in 2015, marking the third consecutive season the nationally-touring stock car series will stop at the 1.5-mile track. The ARCA race at Kentucky will be Sept. 25.

“We are happy to have the ARCA Racing Series return to our September weekend schedule in 2015,” said Kentucky Speedway General Manager Mark Simendinger. “The series has a long-standing history with our track dating back to 2000 and its Midwestern base makes it a favorite of our fans.”

Following a four-year hiatus, the ARCA tour returned to Kentucky Speedway in 2013 where second-generation racer Corey LaJoie added his name to the impressive list of Kentucky ARCA winners. Brennan Poole took Venturini Motorsports to victory lane at the track in 2014.

"Kentucky Speedway is so fast with a bunch of bumps. It's like racing a roller coaster,” Poole said. “I had so much fun racing there this past season and picking up one of the biggest wins in my career. I'm really excited we get to go back and race there this coming season. It's awesome to think I'll have a shot at repeating with Team BCR this season."

The 2015 race will mark the 22nd ARCA race at Kentucky since the inaugural event in 2000 and will serve as the show-opener for the next-day NASCAR Xfinity Series race.

Tim Steele, a three-time ARCA Racing Series champion, won the first ARCA race at Kentucky. The list of ARCA winners that followed would look good in anyone's record book, a roster that includes Ryan Newman, Frank Kimmel, Kyle Busch, Steve Wallace, Erik Darnell, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., Michael McDowell, James Buescher and Parker Kligerman.

Kimmel, the 10-time ARCA Racing Series champion, is the all-time Kentucky winner with four victories - his last win there in 2005. Kimmel, the all-time ARCA winner with 80 victories, is also the all-time lap leader at Kentucky, leading 557 laps in 12 races.

The Kentucky Speedway visit is unique for ARCA in that 17-year-olds can race on the superspeedway if they successfully complete a test and are approved by series officials to race. Drivers such as NASCAR Xfinity Series champion Chase Elliott and nearby Louisville, Ky. native Ben Rhodes are among the 17-year-olds to compete at the track in an ARCA race.

“Many of the ARCA drivers who have raced at Kentucky Speedway have gone on to extremely successful careers in NASCAR including Ryan Newman, Kyle Busch, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and Chase Elliott,” said Simendinger. “We can’t wait to see the next group of future stars take our track next fall.”

The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways.

The 63rd ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards season is now taking shape as several race dates have been announced, including the season opener at Daytona International Speedway February 14 and the closing race October 16 at Kansas Speedway. More race dates will be announced in the coming days.





Daytona International Speedway


New Jersey Motorsports Park


Pocono Raceway


Michigan Int'l Speedway


Iowa Speedway


Pocono Raceway


Berlin Raceway


Illinois State Fairgrounds


DuQuoin State Fairgrounds


Kentucky Speedway


Kansas Speedway