Lucas Oil Raceway to host ARCA doubleheader in 2015

Lucas Oil Raceway to host ARCA doubleheader in 2015

(TOLEDO, Ohio – November 22, 2014) – Lucas Oil Raceway will be on the 2015 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards schedule for the second consecutive year and, once again, will be part of a big racing weekend in the Indianapolis metro area. 

The ARCA Racing Series will race on Friday, July 24 at Lucas Oil Raceway in Brownsburg, Ind. as part of an ARCA/CRA Super Series doubleheader. Prior to the aforementioned doubleheader, the USAC Silver Crown Series will lead off Thursday night with a complete program of racing activities. The NASCAR Xfinity Series races at nearby Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday, July 25 and the NASCAR Sprint Cup race will be at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday, July 26. 

“We at Track Enterprises are proud to be able to bring so many talented drivers together in the Midwest for the fans to see an exciting stock car race at such a tradition-rich facility,” said Track Enterprises president and race event promoter Bob Sargent. “We look forward to returning to the Lucas Oil Raceway with the versatile ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards. It has been great working with the Raceway staff and being able to offer the fans another major event during Brickyard weekend.” 

Lucas Oil Raceway provided the backdrop for the second career win for Brandon Jones in 2014. Jones was one of three SCOTT Rookie drivers to finish among the top five when he beat Austin Wayne Self to the finish line. Matt Tifft finished fifth in the event. 

“Racing at Lucas Oil Raceway is incomparable,” Self said. “You have lane options which means you can make passes; it’s challenging and makes for great racing. The tire wear on the track allows strategy to become a component and come into play during the race. A driver can learn how to manage his resources while still racing for position.” 

Self, the SCOTT Rookie of the Year in 2014, has family in Indiana, meaning he’ll have his own cheering section in Brownsburg. 

“After finishing second last year I am excited to get back at it. Lucas Oil Raceway is like a home track for me because I have so much family in Indiana,” he said. “It’s also a great facility for fans. I look forward to getting back out to Lucas Oil Raceway in 2015.” 

The ARCA/CRA Super Series race will be held the same day. NASCAR veteran Kyle Busch nosed out John Hunter Nemechek for the win in that race in 2014. 

The 2015 race will be the 11th ARCA Racing Series race at the track since 1971. Two-time ARCA Racing Series champion Ramo Stott won the inaugural ARCA race at Lucas Oil Raceway. Ralph Latham followed as victor in 1972, and Bruce Gould was victorious in 1974. Nearly 10 years would go by before ARCA would return in 1983 when two-time Series champ Marvin Smith was the race winner. Bob Schacht won at LOR in 1984. 

In 1985, a pair of ARCA races was on Lucas Oil's schedule, with Schacht and Davey Allison claiming victories. It would be 26 years before the ARCA tour would return to Lucas Oil Raceway in 2011 when Ty Dillon, driving for Richard Childress Racing, won the 200-lap event. Ten-time series champion Frank Kimmel won at LOR in 2012, the same year two-time defending NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Matt Crafton won the Menards Pole Award. 

The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways. 

The 63rd ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards season is now taking shape as several race dates have been announced, including the season opener at Daytona International Speedway February 14 and the closing race October 16 at Kansas Speedway. More race dates will be announced in the coming days. 

The complete 2015 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards schedule is slated for release Wednesday, November 26.

Tim D.

ARCA Racing...