Salem Speedway will host two ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards races in 2015

Salem Speedway will host two ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards races in 2015

(TOLEDO, Ohio – November 24, 2014) – Salem Speedway is inching closer to a milestone like none other on the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards schedule. When the renowned stock car tour converges on the small, southern Indiana city of Salem, it will mark the 97th and 98th appearances at Salem since debuting on the historic half-mile oval in 1955. The 2015 races will be April 26 and Sept. 19.

Over the years, no track has appeared on ARCA's annual schedule more than Salem has.

"We are certainly pleased that the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards will once again be visiting the famed high banks of Salem Speedway Fueled by the Hoosier Lottery during the 2015 season," said track general manager Richard Deaton.  "The long and storied history between ARCA and Salem Speedway plays a significant role in the annals of both organizations."

Frank Kimmel is the all-time ARCA winner at Salem with nine wins between 1998 and 2008. Other Salem ARCA winners over the years reads like a who's who in motorsports, a list that includes Indy 500 winner Troy Ruttman, NASCAR champions Bobby Allison and Benny Parsons, ARCA champions Nelson Stacy, Jack Bowsher, Benny Parsons, Iggy Katona, Ramo Stott, Tim Steele, Justin Allgaier and Chris Buescher, as well as Bob Schacht, Brian Keselowski, and Alex Bowman. Newly-crowned NASCAR Nationwide Series champion Chase Elliott won an ARCA pole at the track in 2012.

Jack Harrison, in a Ford, won the first-ever ARCA race at Salem on October 9, 1955. Harrison, who was afflicted with stomach ulcers, drank milk continuously to ease his ailment.

More recently ARCA veteran Tom Hessert has won three of the last four races at the track, including in September when he nosed out ARCA Racing Series champion Mason Mitchell in a wild finish that saw Mitchell cross the finish line in second, but backwards.

NASCAR veteran Ken Schrader won at Salem in 1999 and won the pole for the race in September. He says the ARCA Racing Series is perfect for Salem Speedway.

“I remember the first time I went to Salem, I thought it was such a big deal, and I still do. When you consider the history of the place and all the guys that have won there over the years, it’s just incredible. Every driver wants to be on that list,” he said. “It’s just so neat to see all the people come out to see those ARCA races at Salem, all the support from the campers that come out and make a weekend of it.”

The track received a face lift prior to the ARCA race in September when track owner Owen Thompson put new asphalt on a good portion of turns three and four, greatly improving the track and drawing rave reviews from drivers.

The two Salem races are part of the 2015 schedule now being released by ARCA Racing Series officials. The full 2015 ARCA Racing Series schedule will be released Wednesday.

The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers about 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways.

Tim D.

ARCA Racing...