Daytona, an ARCA tradition since '64

Daytona, an ARCA tradition since '64

TOLEDO, Ohio (Feb. 9, 2017) - In 1964, the Dow Jones Industrial Average for the year closed at 874; the average cost of a new home in America was $13,050; gas was 30 cents a gallon; a ticket to the movies was $1.25; Dr. Martin Luther King received the Nobel Peace Prize; US Congress authorized the war in Vietnam; the first Ford Mustang was manufactured; the Beatles made their first appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show; and the ARCA Racing Series, just 12 years old, debuted at Daytona Int'l Speedway marking its first-ever superspeedway appearance.

And the rest is history.

The tour also underwent a name-change in '64 -- from MARC (Midwest Association for Race Cars) to ARCA (Automobile Racing Club of America).

It was understood between NASCAR founder Bill France, Sr. and ARCA founder John Marcum that because ARCA was broadening its horizons, the tour needed a name that reflected an organization more national in scope. Together, they came up with ARCA.

Earl Balmer in No. 29 shared the front row with the No. 21 of Jack Bowsher, but neither had good luck in the race. Balmer finished 19th after falling out with engine failure on lap 66. Bowsher was scored in the ninth finishing position after completing 96 of 100 laps. Bowsher was listed as "spun out" for his reason out. Nelson Stacy went on to win the 250-mile inaugural race in a Ford. Ernie Derr finished second over Iggy Katona, Dick Mitchell and Jim Cushman to complete the top-five. Danny Byrd, H.B. Bailey, Mike Klapak, Bowsher and Virgil Barbe finished sixth through 10th.

With just two cautions for eight laps, all but six cars finished the race. The average speed of the race was 154.103 mph, faster than last year's average speed of 136.752. However, just 24 cars started the race in '64 compared to the standard 40-car starting grid we see today. 

ARCA has made its annual pilgrimage to Daytona Beach, Florida each season ever since. The race has produced an amazing list of winners over the decades, winners who would become some of the biggest names in stock car racing.

The 54th annual Lucas Oil Complete Engine Treatment 200 Driven by General Tire is live on FS1 Saturday afternoon, Feb. 18. will feature live timing and scoring and live chat of all on-track activities, including practice Thursday and Friday and pole qualifying Friday afternoon.

1964 Nelson Stacy Ernie Derr Iggy Katona Dick Mitchell Jim Cushman
1965 Iggy Katona Andy Hampton Benny Parsons Harry Pick Jack Bowsher
1966 Jack Bowsher Ramo Stott Andy Hampton Ernie Derr Shad Wheeler
1967 Ralph Latham Iggy Katona Dorus Wisecarver Andy Hampton Bill Kimmel
1968 Andy Hampton Jesse Baird Iggy Katona Chuck McWilliams J Sommerville
1969 Benny Parsons Iggy Katona Andy Hampton Ramo Stott Les Snow
1970 Ramo Stott Bobby Watson Ron Grana L Wusterhausen Iggy Katona
1971 Iggy Katona Tom Bowsher Red Farmer Jack Shanklin Hank Teeters
1972 Andy Hampton Iggy Katona Red Farmer Dave Sisco C McWilliams
1973 Charlie Blanton Red Farmer Ken Reiter Jim Tobin Ralph Young
1974 Iggy Katona Ron Hutcherson Earl Ross Paul Feldner Jim Tobin
1975 Ron Hutcherson Terry Ryan Gene Taylor Lennie Pond Herk Harbour
1976 Lennie Pond Woody Fisher Ferrel Harris Dave Decker Delmar Clark
1977 Woody Fisher Jim Sauter Bobby Wawak Alton Jones John Halford
1978 Jim Sauter Bruce Hill Earl Ross Delmar Clark Jim Hurlbert
1979 Kyle Petty John Rezek Phil Finney Billy Hagan Ralph Jones
1980 John Rezek Lake Speed Delmar Clark Bob Dotter Moose Myers
1981 Tim Richmond Joe Ruttman Jim Vandiver Phil Parsons Sandy Satullo
1982 Joe Ruttman Billie Harvey Scott Stovall Stuart Huffman Bill Green
1983 Ferrel Harris E Forb-Robinson Scott Stovall Duane Pierson Vaughan Brune
1984 Rick Wilson Ramo Stott Billie Harvey Davey Allison Scott Stovall
1985 Glenn Sears Davey Allison Red Farmer Ken Ragan Bob Brevak
1986 Grant Adcox Ralph Jones Lee Raymond David Sosebee Leroy Maybry
1987 Ralph Jones Bill Venturini Lee Raymond Jerry Churchill S Christman
1988 Mickey Gibbs Red Farmer Charlie Glotzbach Jay Sommers Bill Venturini
1989 Ben Hess Ronald Cooper Brian Ross Clay Young Jimmy Horton
1990 Jimmy Horton Mark Gibson Clay Young Charlie Glotzbach Ken Ragan
1991 Ben Hess Bobby Bowsher Kerry Teague Jimmy Horton Joe Niemiroski
1992 Jimmy Horton Bobby Bowsher Bill Venturini Ben Hess Clifford Allison
1993 Jeff Purvis Loy Allen Kirk Shelmerdine Jeremy Mayfield Bobby Bowsher
1994 Mike Wallace Tim Steele Tim Fedewa Jeff McClure K Shelmerdine
1995 Andy Hillenburg Gary Bradberry Mike Wallace Joe Ruttman Bob Hill
1996 Jeff Purvis Tim Steele Mike Skinner Andy Hillenburg Ron Barfield
1997 Andy Hillenburg Ron Barfield Mark Gibson Bill Baird Mark Stahl
1998 Kenny Irwin Mike Wallace Andy Hillenburg Mark Thompson Ron Barfield
1999 Bobby Gerhart Shawna Robinson Bobby Hamilton Jr Mike Swaim Jr Glen Morgan
2000 David Keith Bobby Gerhart Bob Strait Mike Harmon Kirk Shelmerdine
2001 Ryan Newman Bob Strait Frank Kimmel Kirk Shelmerdine Stuart Kirby
2002 Bobby Gerhart Rick Carelli Frank Kimmel Chad Blount Damon Lusk
2003 Chase Montgomery Bob Strait Billy Venturini Keith Segars Frank Kimmel
2004 Kyle Busch Frank Kimmel Billy Venturini Shane Hmiel Ryan Hemphill
2005 Bobby Gerhart Frank Kimmel JJ Yeley Mike Guerity Matt Hagans
2006 Bobby Gerhart Matt McCall Matt Hagans Burney Lamar Damon Lusk
2007 Bobby Gerhart Marc Mitchell Jeremy Clements David Ragan Frank Kimmel
2008 Michael Annett Justin Allgaier Bill Baird Bobby Gerhart Frank Kimmel
2009 James Buescher Joey Logano Justin Lofton John Wes Townley Ken Weaver
2010 Bobby Gerhart Mark Thompson John Wes Townley James Buescher Patrick Sheltra
2011 Bobby Gerhart Chris Buescher Matt Merrell Ricky Carmichael Jason Bowles
2012 Bobby Gerhart Drew Charlson Will Kimmel Steve Blackburn Mark Thompson
2013 John Wes Townley Kyle Larson Ricky Ehrgott Frank Kimmel Sean Corr
2014 Grant Enfinger Frank Kimmel Clay Campbell Tom Hessert Tyler Reddick
2015 Grant Enfinger Daniel Suarez Brett Hudson Cody Coughlin Frank Kimmel
2016 John Wes Townley William Byron Kyle Weatherman Chase Briscoe Frank Kimmel