Sparks fly in open-wheel classic at Toledo; hometown favorite McCune wins

TOLEDO, Ohio (June 19, 2017) -- ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards veteran Jimmy McCune returned to his open-wheel roots years ago, and it paid off Friday night at Toledo Speedway where the Toledo, Ohio hometown favorite won the all-green-flag Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint feature event during the annual All American Coach/Super Fitness/Hemelgarn Racing Fastest Short Track Show in the World.

McCune lost the lead to Ryan Gillenwater for three laps, but took it right back, then sailed away. Canadian Ryan Litt didn't make it easy, however, and caught McCune coming up on five laps to go. Litt looked low and high, but McCune held him off to the checkers to earn his third Fastest Short Track in the World sprint feature win. Litt finished second with Gillenwater third, Bobby Santos fourth and Brian Gerster fifth, followed by Kyle Edwards, Anthony McCune, Kevin Feeney, Chris Randolph, Frank Neill, Brian Gibbs, Jason Blonde and Doug Stepke.

A.J. Lesiecki won the MSA Super Modified Glass City Nationals, the second part to the Fastest Short Track Show in the World.

The first 12 laps were shaping up to be a great battle with 2016 winner Dave McKnight and Talon Stephens going side-by-side for several laps with McKnight gaining control of the top spot on lap 11. A lap later, McKnight's engine came unglued going into turn 3 and coated the track with oil, taking the 2-3-4 runners -- Stephens, fast qualifier Mike McVetta (13:467) and Charlie Schultz with him into the foam blocks in a spectacular crash, with McVetta’s machine getting upside down. All drivers were ok.

The race restarted with Lesiecki as the new leader. Kyle Edwards followed Lesiecki lap after lap, looking for the opening. With two to go, Edwards appeared to have an opening but Lesiecki held on for the win, worth $4,000. Jonathan Lesiecki was third, Jim Paller fourth and Larry Lenhart fifth. Kenny Sharp, Mark Miller, McKnight, Stephens, McVetta and Schultz completed the running order.

Amazing Ty Majeski keeps on winning
Ty Majeski went from a sixth-place finish in his Michigan Int'l Speedway debut Friday with the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards to the ARCA Midwest Tour winner's circle Saturday.

Whether it's on a mom and pops short track in Wisconsin, or Gateway Motorsports Park, nothing seems to change for Majeski…he just keeps on winning. And he did it again Saturday at Gateway in Madison, Illinois, winning the Illinois Lottery Super Late Model Showdown. That gives Majeski his fourth consecutive victory in the ARCA Midwest Tour and places the Seymour, Wisconsin racer atop the charts as the tour's all-time winner with 17 career victories.

However, it wasn't exactly an easy path to Victory Lane at Gateway, making the winning pass with four laps to go after Paul Shafer Jr. touched the wall coming off turn two, giving Majeski the chance to sneak by.

“He (Shafer) was going to win the race. My motor was vapor locking in this heat,” said Majeski said in victory lane. “I just didn’t have any power off four. I was good off two where I could gain on him. It was unfortunate for him that he got into the wall. I got a run on him and was able to get around him.”

Dan Fredrickson also got past Shafer in the final laps to finish second.

“We didn’t run very well, but it got better during the race,” said Fredrickson. “We figured it out with about five laps to go and picked up a half a second. We will go on to the next race.”

Majeski was also involved in an incident going into turn one on lap two where he and Jim Sauter Jr. made contact causing Sauter to spin and hit the wall. Majeski got a flat rear tire out of the deal, came to pit road for service and restarted 17th. From there, Majeski methodically worked his way toward the front.

Shafer held on for third.

“I got in a little hot and washed up a little bit,” said Shafer. “I got in the gas, slid up and hit the wall. I saw Majeski go by and I said oh hell maybe we can get him back. We still got a podium finish, so not a bad day.”

Travis Dassow finished fourth and simply said, “We needed that.” after the race. Ricky Baker rounded out the top five.

Flat Rock Speedway
A sold-out house was treated to a great night of entertainment, culminating with the Lakeshore Utility Trailer Sales School Bus Figure 8 race Saturday night at Flat Rock Speedway. Dennis Whisman was the winner of the School Bus race, while Craig Everage, Billy Earley and Dave Lambert also grabbed checkered flags in their respective events.

The School bus race got wild quickly as Terry Smith rolled his bus just two laps in. AJ Padgett would also flop over after contact with another bus. Whisman was the winner, with Chris Benson, Jack Franzil, Kyle Worley, Smith, Padgett and Billy Earley next in line.

Everage wins in Outlaw Late Models
It was 20 years to the day that Angola, Ind. driver Craig Everage suffered burns on a large majority of his body. Everage told the story to the crowd in victory lane as he zipped to the win in the 50-lap ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Model feature race. The popular win also ended Justin Schroeder's amazing three-race win streak. Paul Pelletier eventually worked his way into the lead as Everage, Jeff Vrsek and Steve Cronenwett Jr. began to move forward, all in the high groove. Everage finally reeled in Pelletier and made the winning pass. Pelletier took second, with Vrsek third. Plumb was fourth and Joe Hawes fifth, followed by Stan Yee Jr., Tadek Stadniczuk, Cronenwett Jr., Tom Cronenwett and Chris Benson.

Defending champion Billy Earley scored the win in the 20-lap ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 feature over a hard-charging Dennis Whisman Sr. Rookie Joe Vanderhoof earned his best-ever finish with third, Greg Studt was fourth and Dennis Whisman Jr. fifth. Scott Apperson, Dave Lambert, Travis Earley, Ethen Lambert and Dan Apperson completed the top-10.

Dave Lambert edged out his son, John, to win the Boat Figure 8 contest. Bill Carberry, Jacob Thomas and Eugene Worden all lost their boats off their trailers. With just two laps left, John let his Dad go by him and then tracked him down in the turn, slamming into Dave’s boat, and then careened off the boat and trailer and into the turn 1 gate, knocking off his trailer and boat as his Dad sped away with the “Barbie” boat still attached.

Lambert also won the Flag Pole race over Whisman Jr., Whisman Sr., Thomas, Carberry, Worden, Mike Miller and John Lambert.

ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
Atlanta, Georgia's Brandon Jones won his second consecutive Corrigan Oil 200
at Michigan Int'l Speedway Friday afternoon, and his fourth career ARCA Racing Series victory. Complete Story

The ARCA/CRA Super Series was silent over the weekend.