Fike on familiar turf at Lucas Oil Raceway; ready for ARCA go July 21

TOLEDO, Ohio (July 16, 2017) – ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards veteran AJ Fike has more laps around Lucas Oil Raceway than most, but it doesn't mean he's got it all figured out.

"I've probably got over a thousand laps around that place and I still haven't figured it out," said Fike. "It never seems like the same track each time you go back…I don't know what it is."AJ Fike Car Shot Iowa 2017

Regardless of the degree of difficulty in figuring out the track, Fike has been a mainstay at Lucas Oil Raceway over the years, competing in Silver Crown cars, midgets, sprints and ARCA cars at the famous short track on the west side of Indianapolis.

"Love the track…it's nice and wide, racy, lots of grooves…it's always fun. Be even more fun if we could figure it out a little better."

Fike is one of several entries for the Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200 coming Friday night, July 21.

"It's hard to be patient on a short track, but that's part of it at Lucas Oil. Just kind of taking what the car will give and be as consistent as you can with what you've got. You can drive in pretty hard, but the corners are so long, you really have to wait on the car to let it do what it's going to do, and then get it turned in the other direction."

Fike also says the lines are similar for the open wheel cars and the stock cars, but it ends there.

"I'd say you pretty-much run the same lines no matter what you're in there, but the ARCA cars are a lot heavier, and you really notice that at Lucas Oil. You can definitely hustle the open wheel cars more, but you have to wait on the ARCA car."

Fike drives the No. 27 MatrixCare-Consonus Health Care-Liberty Village Ford for his family-owned team. The Galesburg, Illinois veteran is currently 8th in ARCA Racing Series championship standings. Fike has one ARCA win at the Illinois State Fairgrounds mile dirt in 2015. He's also a two-time Tony Bettenhausen 100 winner at Springfield.

Other entries for the Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200 include Thad Moffitt, grandson of "The King" Richard Petty, Ken Schrader Racing's Austin Theriault (current points leader), Joe Gibbs Racing's Riley Herbst (Pocono winner), Munford, Alabama's Bret Holmes, Cunningham Motorsports' Shane Lee and Dalton Sargeant (Salem & Iowa winner), Chad Finley (Nashville winner) and Mobile, Alabama's Thomas "Moose" Praytor. ENTRY LIST

Discounted tickets for the Sioux Chief PowerPEX® 200 are on sale now at several Menards stores in Indiana. The tickets are being offered at $10 off the gate price, and can be purchased up through July 20. Kids, 11 and under, are free. For a complete listing of Indiana stores selling discount tickets, CLICK HERE.

The Sioux Chief PowerPEX® 200 marks the 13th ARCA appearance at Lucas Oil Raceway since its debut there in 1971. Former ARCA winners at LOR include Ramo Stott, Bob Schacht, Davey Allison, Ty Dillon, Frank Kimmel, Brandon Jones, Travis Braden and Chase Briscoe.

Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200 Schedule
ARCA Racing Series practice is from 12 - 2 p.m., followed by General Tire pole qualifying at 5. Pre-race ceremonies and driver introductions begin at 8:30 with the green flag waving just after 9. The 100-lap ARCA/CRA Super Series late model race precedes the 200-lap ARCA national tour event.

Media Coverage
The Sioux Chief PowerPEX® 200 is live on FS1 at 9 p.m. ET. will feature live timing and scoring and live chat of all ARCA Racing Series on-track activities.

Don Radebaugh