Herbst ready to receive SCOTT Rookie title Saturday at Indianapolis

Herbst ready to receive SCOTT Rookie title Saturday at Indianapolis

INDIANAPOLIS (Dec. 4, 2017) -- In less than a week, we'll all get to see what Las Vegas, Nevada's Riley Herbst looks like all dressed up in a tuxedo as he will officially be crowned as the 2017 SCOTT Rookie of the Year this Saturday night during the national championship awards banquet. While he has already earned the Rookie points title, defeating Gus Dean by just 4 points, Herbst must fulfill one more duty before he goes in the record books as an ARCA Rookie of the Year.

While we have no doubt he'll get there, for the record, the ARCA Rookie of the Year must also maintain a positive example of demeanor, conduct, character and code of ethics to best represent the series. In addition to the honor, Herbst will receive a $10,000 payout as the SCOTT Rookie of the Year.

"We set out to win the Rookie of the Year and we accomplished that goal," said Herbst. "We wanted more out of this year but, all in all, it was a successful season. We take what we learned and move onto next year. As I get more up to speed, I know we can win more races. Big thanks to SCOTT for the Rookie of the Year…appreciate what they do for ARCA."

Herbst will also be recognized on stage as 5th driver in the national championship standings. 

Herbst joins an elite group of former ARCA Rookies of the Year reaching back to 1957 when Bill Granger was the first recipient. Dalton Sargeant won the SCOTT Rookie of the Year in 2016. In between is a remarkable list of drivers who have earned the honor, many of whom would go on to be national champions.

The banquet festivities get underway at the Indiana Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis Saturday, Dec. 9 with a hosted reception from 4 to 5:15 p.m., sponsored by K&K Insurance and Sunoco. The banquet doors swing open at 5:15. The show starts promptly at 5:30 and honors the 2017 ARCA Racing Series champions as well as other top series drivers and special award winners. Attendees will also enjoy a very nice sit-down dinner to be served at their tables.

Herbst already announced that he'd be returning to the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards tour full-time in 2018 in the No. 18 NOS Energy Drink-UFC Gym Toyota with Joe Gibbs Racing. The 18-year-old driver made headlines in 2017, winning at Pocono Raceway in his first Pocono attempt.

ARCA SCOTT Rookies of the Year

2016 Dalton Sargeant
2015 Kyle Weatherman
2014 Austin Wayne Self
2013 Justin Boston
2012 Alex Bowman
2011 Chris Buescher
2010 Dakoda Armstrong
2009 Parker Kligerman
2008 Matt Carter
2007 Michael McDowell
2006 Blake Bjorklund
2005 Joey Miller
2004 TJ Bell
2003 Bill Eversole
2002 Chad Blount
2001 Jason Jarrett
2000 Brian Ross
1999 Ron Cox
1998 Bill Baird
1997 Josh Baltes
1996 Blaise Alexander
1995 Dill Whittymore
1994 Gary Bradberry
1993 Jeremy Mayfield
1992 Frank Kimmel
1991 Roy Payne
1990 Glenn Brewer
1989 Graham Taylor
1988 Bobby Gerhart
1987 Dave Weltmeyer
1986 Mark Gibson
1985 Dave Simko
1984 Davey Allison
1983 Bill Venturini
1982 Lee Raymond
1981 Gordon Blankenship
1980 Scott Stovall
1979 Steve Ellis
1978 Bob Slawinski
1977 Bill Green
1976 Tom Meinberg
1975 Woody Fisher
1974 Jerry Hufflin
1973 Bruce Gould
1972 Delmar Clark
1971 A. Arnold
1970 Tom Bowsher
1969 Larry Ashley
1968 Cliff Hamm
1967 Norm Meyers
1966 Dave Dayton
1965 Benny Parsons
1964 Charlie Glotzbach
1962 Curly Mills
1961 Virgil Oakes
1959 Bob Bower
1958 Paul Wensink
1957 Bill Granger