Holmes Returns at Iowa with Schrader

After taking off for a week and missing the SCOTT 150 at Chicagoland Speedway, Bret Holmes will make his return to the driver's seat for this weekend's Fans with Benefits 150 at Iowa Speedway. But instead of the familiar blue No. 23 Chevrolet, Holmes will pilot Ken Schrader Racing's No. 52 Holmes II Excavation Ford.

For Holmes, it will be the first time in his career that he's driven for another team other than his father.

"This is the first time I have ever driven for anyone other than my family," Holmes said. "It's going to be a big change. I was laughing with my guys about this because I don't want to miss my pit board on pit road. I'll have to be extra careful about it."

Holmes and his family-owned team took the week off at Chicagoland to regroup after some performance issues.

"We came in a couple of years ago and we ran really good," he said. "We just haven't been running as good as we've been wanting lately. We looked at things and decided we needed to make a change. Wayne Peterson will run the 23 to keep that car up in the points for us until we get the right people in place to come back and run the way we know we can run."

For Holmes, driving for Ken Schrader is the culmination of a lifelong dream, even if it's one he never expected to fulfill.

"My dad has known Ken for a long time," he said. "He used to race dirt with him, and whenever Ken was racing at Talladega he would come and spend time with us. He's been a friend of the family for a long time and he's been a huge help to me in my time in ARCA. He's always been someone I could ask a question or get some advice from."

The Fans with Benefits 150 at Iowa Speedway is scheduled for Saturday, July 7. The one-day show will feature practice at 12:45 pm ET/11:45 am CT, General Tire Pole Qualifying at 4:45 pm ET/3:45 pm CT, and the green flag for the 150-lap race will wave shortly after 9 pm ET/8 pm CT. ARCARacing.com will have live timing and scoring and track updates throughout all on-track sessions during the course of the day.

Comments