Special Awards Update: ModSpace 150 at Pocono

Special Awards Update: ModSpace 150 at Pocono

Team owner Matthew Miller (No. 28 United Rentals Toyota) locked up the 2018 General Tire Superspeedway Challenge title with a second place finish in the ModSpace 150 at Pocono Raceway. Coy Gibbs (No. 18 NOS Energy/ORCA Coolers Toyota) is second an insurmountable 300 points behind heading into the season's final superspeedway race at Kansas in October. Bill Venturini (No. 15 JBL Audio Toyota) is third 305 points back, Doug Fuller (No. 41 LaPaz Margarita Mix/ICON Vehicle Dynamics Toyota) is fourth 345 points behind and Don Fike (No. 27 MatrixCare/Consonus Healthcare/Liberty Village Ford) is fifth 515 points behind.

Miller also leads the R.E. Lightning Challlenge Award standings with 2950 points. He heads over his MDM Motorsports co-owner Doug Fuller at 2815, Coy Gibbs at 2600, Mark McFarland (No. 8 Bama Buggies Toyota) at 2535 and Don Fike in fifth at 2485.

Zane Smith was the Scott Brand Rookie of the Race winner at Pocono, and he continues to lead the Scott Rookie Challenge standings with 382 points. Chase Purdy is second at 344, Travis Braden is third at 318, Joe Graf, Jr. (No. 77 Big Tine Ford) is fourth at 296, and Natalie Decker (No. 25 Shoney's/N29 Capital Partners Toyota) is fifth also at 296. Only a driver's best 15 finishes count towards the rookie of the year title; drivers will start replacing their worst finishes of the season after the next race at Springfield on August 19.

Smith extended his lead in the CGS Imaging 4 Crown Championship standings at Pocono. He has a 45-point lead over Sheldon Creed in second and a 145-point advantage over third place Travis Braden. Chase Purdy and Riley Herbst round out the top five. The final CGS 4 Crown Championship event of the season is Monday, September 3 at DuQuoin.

Smith is also in control of the Sioux Chief Short Track Challenge standings with 1290. Chandler Smith (No. 20 Craftsman Toyota) is second at 1225, Chase Purdy is third, Sheldon Creed is fourth and Joe Graf, Jr. rounds out the top five. The next event on the Sioux Chief Short Track Challenge schedule is the Allen Crowe 100 at the Springfield Mile on August 19.

Gus Dean (No. 32 Gree Cooling Products/Baker Distributing Chevrolet) earned his first General Tire Pole Award of the season at Pocono. Chandler Smith (4) continues to lead the season-long standings over Creed (3). Others who have earned a single General Tire Pole include Natalie Decker, Christian Eckes, Todd Gilliland, Noah Gragson, Brandon Jones, and Michael Self.

Zane Smith also won the Protect Plus Halfway Leader Award at Pocono, his fifth Halfway Leader Award of the season. Sheldon Creed, Michael Self and Chandler Smith all have two, while Christian Eckes, Todd Gilliland, and Max Tullman each have one.

Travis Braden leads the S&S Volvo Laps Completed standings with 1893. He has completed seven more laps that Zane Smith in second at 1886. Chase Purdy is third at 1871, Sheldon Creed is fourth at 1828, and Riley Herbst is fifth at 1802.

Zane Smith led 19 laps at Pocono to earn the Valvoline Lap Leader Award at Pocono. Chandler Smith leads the season-long Valvoline Lap Leader standings with 527 laps led so far in 2018. Zane Smith has paced the field for 358 laps to sit second, Sheldon Creed has led 325 laps, Michael Self has led 164 laps, and Christian Eckes has led 145 laps to round out the top five.

The battle for Cometic Crew Chief of the Year tightened up considerably at Pocono. Mardy Lindley earned the Cometic Crew Chief of the Race Award when he added just four points to his total; Zane Smith finished first after he started third to put Lindley second overall at 132. Jeff Stankiewicz, crew chief for Sheldon Creed continues to lead with 127 points. Kevin Reed, Robert “Bootie” Barker, and Jamie Jones round out the top five.

Toyota has clinched the 2018 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Manufacturer's Title. Toyota has 123 points, Ford is second at 72, Chevrolet is third at 71, and Dodge is a distant fourth at 27.