Chase Purdy wins ARCA Midwest Tour Dixieland 250

Chase Purdy wins ARCA Midwest Tour Dixieland 250

Chase Purdy, who currently sits third in ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards national championship standings, won Tuesday night's Dixieland 250 for the ARCA Midwest Tour at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna, Wisconsin. It is his first Midwest Tour win in his first ever series start.

Purdy, who drives the No. 8 Bama Buggies Toyota for MDM Motorsports in the ARCA Racing Series, battled throughout the night with Midwest Tour regular and two-time series champion Dan Fredrickson to score the $10,000 winner's payday.

Fredrickson led the majority of the night, keeping Purdy at bay and withstanding pressure from NASCAR XFINITY Series rookie Ty Majeski and former NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Johnny Sauter. Both Majeski and Sauter would retire from the race with mechanical problems, leaving Fredrickson to battle with Purdy. On a restart with just 32 laps to go, Purdy was able to jump in front of Fredrickson and lead the rest of the way.

“If you asked me if I was going to win this race when I walked in the gate this morning, I probably would have looked at you like you were insane,” Purdy said in victory lane. “This right there shows you never give up, your time is coming, and you just have to wait for it. Man, I am glad this moment is here.

“Right now, I am going to try to embrace this moment,” Purdy said when he was asked if he realized that he won the Dixieland 250. “It’s been a long time since I have been to victory lane, and I used to go a lot, and I kind of took advantage of when I win all the time, but this by far is the most meaningful win of my career and definitely the biggest. Just really fortunate for right now.”

Purdy and the rest of the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards will return to action after a two-week hiatus in the Allen Crowe 100 at the Illinois State Fairgrounds. Practice is scheduled for 10 am ET/9 am CT, General Tire Pole Qualifying is scheduled for 12 noon ET/11 am CT, and the race will go green at 2:30 pm ET/1:30 pm CT, live on MAVTV. ARCARacing.com will have live timing, scoring, track updates, and scanner audio during all on-track sessions for registered users.

The ARCA Midwest Tour will be back in action on Saturday, August 18th at Golden Sands Speedway in Plover, Wisconsin. Make your plans to join us for a 100-lap shootout on the high banks on that Saturday night. Visit midwesttour.racing for a full schedule and be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@MidwestTour).

Comments