ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Visits Toledo Speedway on May 19, 2019

ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Visits Toledo Speedway on May 19, 2019

Toledo Speedway will play host to the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards on Sunday, May 19, 2019 for its annual visit to the half-mile high-banked oval located on the Ohio-Michigan border.

The series' home track has seen 77 previous races dating back to 1963. The track has been known to provide intense action - including bent fenders and rumpled tempers, from time to time - and, most interestingly, first-time series winners.

The series' all-time leading winner, Frank Kimmel, scored his first career series victory at Toledo Speedway in May, 1994. Since then, Kimmel scored an additional 79 ARCA Racing Series wins, including another eight at Toledo, and ten series championships.

Other notable first time winners include 2012 series champion and current Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver Chris Buescher, who has four total Toledo ARCA wins, current NASCAR Camping World Truck Series drivers Todd Gilliland and Myatt Snider, and current NASCAR on NBC personality and 2009 series runner up Parker Kligerman. Former Toledo Speedway late model champions Joy Fair and Bob Keselowski also scored an ARCA win at their home track.

Others who have visited victory lane at Toledo in ARCA Racing Series competition include current NASCAR XFINITY Series championship contender Justin Allgaier, who clinched the 2008 series championship with his Toledo victory, 2011 series champ and current Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver Ty Dillon, who swept both races at Toledo in 2011, and Michael McDowell, also a current Cup Series driver, who won the season finale at Toledo in 2007 en route to second in that season's final point standings.

When Gilliland won in 2015, he accomomplished a feat that may never be equalled. ARCA Racing Series rules dictate that to participate in an event, a driver must be a minimum of 15 years of age. Gilliland turned 15 on May 16, 2015, the day of practice and qualifying for that year's event. The next day, Gilliland avoided the nine caution flags that slowed the race and passed veteran Tom Hessert III to score the win and become the youngest driver in series history to win a race. It's a record that is unlikely to be broken any time soon.

The 2019 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards schedule to date (dates will be added as they are confirmed):

February 9: Daytona International Speedway
March 9: Five Flags Speedway
April 14: Salem Speedway
May 19: Toledo Speedway
May 31: Pocono Raceway
June 7: Michigan International Speedway
July 19: Iowa Speedway
July 26: Pocono Raceway
August 18: Illinois State Fair
September 14: Salem Speedway

Sara L.

Do you think the race will get rained out?



ARCA should go to Memphis instead of wasting 4 days on a 60 lap race at Pocono on a 2nd trip. Or get Winchester back on the schedule. That old Cayuga place sure looks nice now also.

Steve M.

Still hoping Nashville is on the schedule. That race has been incredible every year.