Daytona Countdown - 0: RACE DAY! 1982 Champion Scott Stovall

Daytona Countdown - 0: RACE DAY! 1982 Champion Scott Stovall

If you wander through the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards garage area, one of the officials you will undoubtedly bump into may look familiar, especially if you've been a follower of the series since the 1980s.

Ft. Wayne, Indiana's Scott Stovall took over the driving duties for his father's iconic No. 0 Louise Special in 1980, replacing another icon of the series, Conan "Moose" Myers. Almost larger than life, Myers earned his nickname through his huge frame and the fact he was hard to deal with on the race track.

Although soft-spoken and youthful, Scott was also a giant both physically and behind the wheel. He earned the 1980 series rookie of the year award, then backed it up with a run to the 1982 series championship. Stovall dominated, beating Lee Raymond by 450 points and closing the season with an impressive win at Sandusky Speedway.

Stovall would claim his second and final career win at Toledo Speedway in 1986. After his ARCA Racing Series career wound down as a driver, Stovall returned to the short track scene in his native Ft. Wayne area, becoming one of the drivers to bear in the late model class at Baer Field Speedway. He would occasionally make the trip east to race at Toledo as well.

Stovall is in Daytona, working as a tech inspector in the garage and out on road during the race.

The 2019 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards season starts with the Lucas Oil 200 driven by General Tire at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday, February 9. Fox Sports 1 will broadcast the race live, with the green flag waving over the expected 40-car field at 4:45 pm ET. will have complete event coverage, including live timing & scoring and track updates, free for ARCA for Me members. New members can register at


Love reading racing history..specialty someone from my home state.